Skip to main content

Day 2

Day 2


Life without sugar and carbs is painful.  Literally. I am not craving ANYTHING as much as sleep, and a release from this crappy feeling. I had hoped because I wasn’t a huge sugar eater in the first place that the withdrawals would be pretty light.


I was wrong.


I’m drinking water like crazy- and forcing myself to eat every 2-3 hours.  I weighed myself the day before I started this- Wednesday morning- and swallowed hard when I was faced with what I need to lose.  Will lose. Then I went out dancing and drank a beer to celebrate not drinking any more beer for a while. That same day I hit over 11,000 steps on my fitbit which I haven’t done since I started wearing one a couple years ago. 


Yay me.


Today I weighed myself again because, well, I work in a hospital and the temptation was too great.  I did it three times because I thought the scale was out of wack.  I’d down 3 pounds?  Since Wednesday morning?  I’m using the same scale so……….i really have to stop doing that.  It’s not about the weight. (hell yes it is) It’s about how I feel (which right now is pretty shitty) and how I look in my clothes (which I will have to buy all over again)


 


Welcome to diet mind.  But this really isn’t a diet.  It’s a way of getting my weight down quickly so I can see results and not damage myself when I’m exercising.  It’s a way of staying motivated, of relearning that food is just food, it’s not a crutch.  Last night I ate a cup and a half of broccoli with 1 tsp of butter, 1 tsp of garlic parsley seasoning nd two boca burger patties (vegetarian).  Also, can’t forget a huge glass of water.


It was better than I thought it was gonna be.  I don’t want to talk about food so much as the emotional and mental experience of finally realizing that what I was doing wasn’t working, and wasn’t going to magically start working.  I’ve made the investment, I have the support and my mind is right. 


 


I checked in at physical therapy last night and automatically took a single lifesaver because they were there.  I opened it, started to put it in my mouth and realized “oh shit, I can’t have this” – no pockets, don’t see a garbage can, think “it won’t matter” for a hot second and then tucked it into my bra.  Later that night when I was getting ready for bed it flew across the room as I ripped off the *&^* bra and I got a good giggle.  The lifesaver doesn’t matter.  The fact that I didn’t make an excuse, that I changed my mind about it mattering……….THAT is what matters.


That is going to be what makes me successful and keeps me at a good place when I reach goal.  Using food, and alcohol to soothe hurt feelings and bad days is no longer an option.  Time to figure it out.


 


If you read this and you feel it, I love you for feeling it.  It’s not easy, but it’s not hard either.  It’s a choice.


 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...