Skip to main content

Off my chest

Last night i tossed and turned and woke up from dreams that had me thinking in the middle of the night and that is NEVER a great sign that all is right in my world.

So here I am.

How is it, that when i'm looking for a partner the market is a barren waste land?  When i finally decide that this looking and dating and game playing is no longer fun and  quite a bit awful it's open season on hunters.

They always circle back.  Women who have done this online bullshit know this is true.  You get put into a cycle and eventually.....they.come.back....You have two choices.  You can entertain the bullshit or you can block them.  Lets face it, no self respecting woman wants to be circled back on after a guy has determined he can't do better than you or that you are just good enough to get him through till the next opportunity.

Ah, yes.  Jaded a small wee bit. 

Or just experienced and realistic.

When i moved, I decided it was a great time to make some small changes in my life and that the first one would be NO MORE DATING.  I'm all about making new friends, going out casually to get to know people and coming back home, alone, with no "i'm thinking about you" texts.  No expectations, no attempted awkward kissing - NO LOOKING.

And.......the flood begins.  The barren dessert of my dating choices has become a tropical forest.  Because i can't.  Because i won't.  Because i simply don't know how to choose a partner that is trustworthy and good for me.

When a beautiful tall man with a buttery accent shows an interest in me I think "huh, what the hell is wrong with him? or what does he want from me?" When he fills all the basic checks of grown up man taking care of his life and self...and he actively pursues me.....I think "Is this some kind of game because i'm new? Is there some kind of horrible bet on the table?"  (okay yes, i've determined i am officially jaded) I throw up all the road blocks. 

Is it normal to have a man want to know what book you are reading when you tell him you aren't going to meet him out because you are heading to bed with your book?  Is it normal for him to call you on his way out to see a band you both enjoy to tell you about the first book he bought and read as an adult?  Which....is a huge hook for me.  He's good.  To have a man tell me that friends is better than nothing and that he just wants to know me.

I stand firm in my decision. It's a curse for me that any man who tells me i'm beautiful, interesting - who asks me questions about what i THINK and how i FEEL about life and situations - who ANSWERS me with thoughtful and sometimes opposite opinions......why do i run?  Why do I not believe that this kind of man is good for me.

I'd rather stress over the ones who don't call, aren't reliable, don't have their act together - compliments are connected to ulterior motives and basically, just don't feel good to me.  I'm working SO HARD to love myself, to know i'm worthy, to know that the shitty relationships i held on to were because of my missing pieces....the role i need to repeat over and over again until I can see it, change it and heal myself.

Until then, I cannot choose partner.  Dating is a waste of time because to me - the goal has always been to find my ........soulmate.........urgh, yes i said that. 

Is it this fucking complicated for everyone?  Because seriously.  I've got other shit to do. 
And i'd like to sleep. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...