Skip to main content

Tornados and flip flops

This morning I had the craziest dream unlike any I can remember ever having.  I'm a big nightmare girl, my overactive imagination kicking into high gear as soon as I shut my eyes.  But this dream, I would have expected to have while the evening news was on......you know, when what you are hearing filters it's way into your dream world.

I want to remember this, although i'm not sure why.  Maybe because it's just so strange for me.

I'm at an outdoor event, in a large city, on the waterfront.  It's a beautiful day and i'm sitting at a table underneath a tent.  I hear an outdoor band playing and I'm teasing my friend "Bones" because he is dressed in a silk suit and flip flops.  (Bones is a biker and silk suits or flip flops are not something he'd EVER be in)

I feel a rippling through the crowd and people start pointing and yelling.  I peek out under the tent and see a huge tornado coming toward us but it is still way off in the distance.  It is picking up sky rise buildings and tossing them into the sky like daisy's.  I think to myself "is that real?"  As people begin to run and scream I stand there and tell Bones "what difference does it make to run?  Maybe it won't even come straight at us and it will go a different way" 

As everyone is running away I wonder if i should try and record the storm on my phone, or maybe i should call my family, but who do i call first and what do i say?  I start searching for my phone and think I better put it on my body in case my purse gets lost. (always efficient even in dreams) and now it's completely dark and i can't hear and i'm petrified.

The next part of my dream is me walking along a city road in and out of backed up traffic and everyone is blaring their horns.  There are others walking around in groups or alone.  I'm alone.  I have nothing but the clothes i wear on me and i'm thinking "i have no money, i have no phone, i have no way to get home and no-one knows where i am."

And then, of course, i wake up.

My life, in the middle of my dreams.

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...