Skip to main content

Unemployment

So much has changed in the last year since my first post to this blog.  Happiness breeds the lack of time to blog in my world.
I'm still loving my "new" home - very grateful that we made the move when we did because since then I've become unemployed.  Wednesday April 27th my position was eliminated.  I was informed during my "lunch hour" while my re-heated lasagna sat on my desk as I hustled to get needed signatures for an upcoming ad....it was surreal.   One moment I'm under the gun meeting deadlines and the next I'm being walked out of the building like a blue collar criminal.  
Ah, "what did she do to deserve this?" you may be wondering.  Just my job and more. Perhaps I didn't kiss the correct tushy.  There was no wrong doing or lack of doing on my part aside from dedicating the past 6 years of my life to a company that didn't deserve that dedication.  It's difficult not to be bitter, and yet, I know I am not alone in this line of thinking.  I was given a whopping 6 weeks of severance and not one day of my three weeks of vacation that I hadn't taken any of.  When asked if I was treated right by a former co-worker my answer was "I was treated right, I wasn't treated well" and i stand by that.  They did what they had to do within Connecticut state law and not one bit more.  Understandable.  They need the money.  God knows my vacation pay would have probably put them under (tongue in cheek).  Okay one more clear shot and I'll let this negativity go for now.....It wasn't bad enough that they walked me out of the building in the middle of a work week in the middle of the day as if I were a criminal, OR that they gave me literally six weeks of pay and no vacation pay.....Their payroll department messed up my severance checks and I ended up owing THEM money which came out of my last severance check.  They forgot to withhold money for benefits I was no longer receiving.....??  My initial thought was they could have let that little bit of change go to save face if nothing else, but instead they took their few hundred dollars and put it back into their multi- million dollar bank account.

Non-profit treated me better.  I guess it was the red blood flowing through their veins.  Warm blooded people are difficult to find at the corporate level in retail.

So ANYWAYS- I have been searching for work and exploring different options at a time when our Governor is laying off 7,000 people in an already under-employed state.  Over 200 of my resumes have been sent out into cyberspace since the end of April and I have only received one response which was to tell me I didn't fit the position.  I have never been so excited to hear that, because it was at LEAST a response that let me know someone somewhere had actually looked at my resume.  One real, not automated,  response out of over 200 applications....that is very disheartening and very real. 

Oh wait....it seems that insurance sales REALLY wants me, along with everyone else that posts a resume on Monster, Careerbuilder, etc.   I can't get these companies to stop calling me or emailing me.  Its a very strange form of harassment only instead of trying to sell it TO me they want all of us unemployed losers to SELL.  They really just won't go away, like a mosquito.  A nest of mosquito's.   One frustrating conversation began with "I have your resume here in front of me and you are the perfect fit".......So I asked, "you have my resume right there in front of you?  right now? at this very moment?   Yes, indeed he did.  "Well," I asked, "Can you please tell me where you see the word INSURANCE or SALES anywhere in my resume?".....Well no, actually he couldn't.  "what exactly makes me the perfect fit? that I'm unemployed and I'd like to sell insurance to other unemployed people who can't afford it and therefor make no salary on this commission based position?"  

"no one wants to sell insurance" says the man recruiting me for this lucrative position.  I suggested he brush up his own resume and join me in the search for job that would allow us both to keep our dignity.  Has it come to this really?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...