Skip to main content

Still Thankful after all these years.......

That song keeps playing in my head , was it Paul Simon or James Taylor who sang it first?  "Still crazy after all these years"- too lazy to look it up and find out at this moment.  It's along the lines of Adele's song "Hello".  I love Adele.  I can't tell you that enough.  I don't care that "they" overplay her- her voice just.........fills me.  She makes me feel.  That's about all i require out of any music really.  Make me feel something.

And also along those lines- why do people do this to themselves?  Paul, James, Adele- why are we still lamenting on past lovers?  Can't we just let that shit go?  I mean really, if it were so wonderful why did we let it end?  Because it wasn't that good, that's why.  Retrospect makes people rosier than they were.  My opinion.  

That includes family.  (is it me or am i very choppy this morning?)  There are times, like the H.O.L.I.D.A.Y.S.........that without fail,will have me missing family I never really had.  Well, I did for a while but that was almost worse than the non family i had previously.  I get it.  I know there is no such thing as that Norman Rockwell picture, but I always wanted it. Even if it's make pretend.  Well.  not really.  



ANYWAYS-  The holidays have been improving for me every year, just like wine.  Slowly.  I no longer hold my breath waiting for someone to get punched or have someone leave the room in a huff until someone ELSE (pick that years person insert here) has to go kiss some ass before we can eat a family dinner.  But the table was ALWAYS just BEAUTIFUL.  

This is how i felt about Thanksgiving dinner then:


(Matter of fact, i probably love horror so much due to the fact that it feels a LOT like my childhood and married life.  But i digress.)

This year:


and i mean that in a totally good way.  The only thing missing for me was my children (who are no longer children) but they will make it up to me at Christmas because i'm demanding like that.  

When i opened this page to begin a blog this morning i was going to write about what i'm grateful for- because you know, all the kids are doing it now.  I ran off track immediately, per usual.  However, now i'm reviewing the disjointed blog above I see that at least one thing i'm grateful for is in fact documented here. 

Let the holidays begin.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...