Skip to main content

Enjoy the ride but watch your toes

This smiling business begins to hurt after a while......seems that genuine and joy filled smiles may use more face muscles than I thought.  Bring on the wrinkles.  Completely worth it.

What a strange place to be.  Completely un-tethered to anything and yet more solid and based then i have ever been in my life.

Do i experience sadness on a daily basis anymore?  No.  There are moments and they pass. They are infrequent.  There really isn't room for those thoughts anymore, unless i purposely recall them as I am at this moment.

Why do that?  Because I want to understand the part i played in unhappy relationships.  Because i don't want to repeat it for a third round.  I don't want to fall into the same trap of losing my head as much as i'm willing to give my heart.  To the right man.  Since my picker is broken, i'm not sure i trust my own judgement anymore so i need to check myself occasionally.

Looking at where i am right now, and the fact that i've spent some solid time "alone" as in, not in a romantic relationship.......perspective has changed.  It would seem that what i "need" from a man would be a hell of a lot less considering I am doing fine without one, right?  But no.   Thinking about this now, the stakes are higher.  This sounds morbid, and makes me feel aged, not old but- If i'm giving the last phase of my life to one man he better be all that and more.

This, i have come to see - is the fun part.  Yes, i have to work, pay bills, prioritize.  I'm not rich, probably never will be and i'm okay with it.  So maybe i only go to two countries before i can't anymore instead of all of them.  Or even just the one, Ireland.  That has to happen SOMEDAY.  I can go alone, or not.  But i'm going.  If that's my biggest dream requiring money- i can make that happen.  The point is, i have very few responsibilities anymore.  So freedom comes naturally now.  Life has become an open road and i have a full tank of gas.

My version of "freedom" doesn't mean not being in a committed relationship with a significant other.  I dislike those terms "tied down", "settled down"......yuck.   If anything I want to ramp up, get a little crazier, and have a hell of a lot of fun.  I need a partner, not another child to care for or controlling boss to answer to.  I need a best friend that I can also crawl naked into bed with.  That sounds like heaven to me and it is that simple.  Someone who is my favorite person, and vice versa.

That's not to say that everyone else falls off the planet and we spend 24/7 together.  I still bitterly laugh when i think about the ex saying I wanted to be with him 24/7.  I have NEVER wanted to be with ANYONE 24/7.  Not even mySELF. Now i'm laughing because that statement is so true i taste it in my mouth.

There's a yearning for someone that can't take place when you see them constantly.  I don't want to lose that feeling or have him lose it for me.  It is essential.  It's not about holding back or not sharing a life, it's about remaining separate people and sharing that with each other.  That idea of "becoming one" has fucked everyone up.  Nice job catholic church.  I also don't want to be forgotten or discounted because i'm not there in person - I never forget, i always respect.  I want that in return.

So as i move into new territory, with a straight and open mind, I find that maybe i'm not so confused or scared after all.  I just needed to be patient and not lose heart.  I had to weed through a lot of jerks, and people who are better off as friends before i could arrive at this point with someone where it's so new and clean and unwritten - and fragile. I need to go gently before I begin to have this feeling again.

The feeling that i want to jump in with both feet.  I acknowledge that sweet innocent side of my heart for a moment, that little girl who just wants to swim in the love that never came without strings attached. The kind of love she deserved to have from her parents, but can not come from a partner. Understanding that has changed me.  Has set me free.  I can be 100% me and the right man will not only love me, he will accept my love.

I'm looking forward to watching and feeling that play out.  






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...