Skip to main content

one step forward

two steps back.

It is possible to have feelings for an ex AND have feelings for your spouse.

Just because something ended, it does not negate the time spent together in a relationship.

Current spouses are current BECAUSE they are preferred.  I'm not sure why anyone wouldn't understand that.

Trust.  When the trust is broken it's much easier to hate the ex of your spouse than to hold your spouse accountable for sketchy behavior.  Secrets breed mistrust.  Honesty isn't always easy but at least everyone is on board with the full story of their lives, not being misled.

I love Mike.  Very much, for many reasons.  We fit.  We are comfortable.  Our differences compliment each other.  I haven't felt this accepted, this calm, this secure- ever. I'm exactly where i am supposed to be and i have zero doubts about it.

Having said that, I do still harbor feelings for my ex.  I didn't know a breakup was going to happen.  I didn't have the time he did to get used to it and decide on it.  One day we were together and the next i'm sleeping downstairs and packing boxes to move.  It was rather abrupt.  The reasons don't really matter.  It happened and that part of my life is over.  I guess i didn't get over it quick enough for some people but some people don't matter to me.  Being honest, being real - that is what is important to me.

I know that it was the best thing. We should have ended at least a year before we did. Only good things have come from the breakup. Without it i wouldn't have had the time i needed to get to know "me" without a man.  I wouldn't have been able to face my fears, accept my faults, love my self as I am..without that breakup.  So painful yes, needed, also yes.

Now.  I have been asked how Mike feels about my writing about my ex. He doesn't seem bothered and he shouldn't be. Here's the thing.  I still mourn my past, the life that died with that relationship.  It was a living thing, healthy or not.  I mourn the loss of a home i loved, a town i loved, friends living close and traditions we shared.  Sometimes i remember good times with the ex and get nostalgic, but in no way do I regret that we went our separate ways. For a while i hated him for how he treated me.  I was very sad with him. We weren't friends.  He didn't share his life with me.  He couldn't.  I was the woman that got along with his friends, that wouldn't embarrass him, that got along with his family, that would always take his side, always had his back.  He was none of those things to me. So no, Mike has nothing to be bothered about because he IS all those things to me.  And more.



I frankly think it would be more weird and absurd NOT to think about times during 13 years of my life.  Kinda like hiding from something I am afraid of.  I'm not afraid, i have no regrets and I am content with my life.  Thoughts don't happen every day like they used to, or even every week - but when they do at least i have the strength to acknowledge them for what they are.  Memories of the past.  They weren't all bad.  And THAT should be celebrated.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...