Skip to main content

Father's Day on a Connecticut Public Beach


There's been a funky vibe in the air for me the past few weeks. Nothing wrong, nothing feeling right.  Just "off".  Someone suggested i get by the water to get myself right again and it's been on my mind to do just that.  When my roomie asked me to go to the beach with her the first thing i thought was "not on a weekend, no way" and then i accepted her invitation. 

The beach to me is where i... go to sit and watch the ocean, listen to the waves ...the things i cannot do anywhere but there.  If there are people enjoying that same view, excellent.  It's a peaceful feeling to see the seemingly neverending water lap up onto the shore.  A reminder that i am very small and insignificant when it all comes down to it.  Which makes my worries even smaller.....in the grand scheme of things.

That, surprisingly, is comforting and rejuvenating.  That vastness, that repetitive beating of the waves on the shore.....even the smell. 


okay so i like the beach when i can get to it.  I think i've made my point, and you get the picture.  

Here's the thing.  Many different types of people also enjoy the beach all for their own reasons, and they too go with their own agendas on how they would like to spend their time there.

I like shade, a book and a chair.  Maybe a nap on a blanket.  

Others, like to play football or soccer or frizbee. 

Or they bring their kids to enjoy the water and make sand castles.

We all have our ways.  

So today.........

We get there early so we can pick out spot and lay claim to what will be our little island for the day. We sit, feeling accomplished, and watch the waves and listen to the ocean....the air still has a little chill on it as the sun begins to warm us.  Bliss i tell you.  just bliss.

to us.  because thats how we want to experience the day. 

People begin to pour in, and where we sat we got to see them all.  I'm a people watcher and i was loving it.  It's hot girl summer you know, so i loved seeing all the apple shapes, pear shapes, every shap you can imagine walking onto the beach in their chosen beach apparel.  I LOVE all the bikinis on bodies that never used to show them when i was younger.  HELL YEAH.   Celebrate our differences.  Appreciate our unique shapes and sizes.  It's about damn time.......but i digress.

I see a man walk by with the strangest cooler i've ever seen.....and then i realize, its a speaker.

oh shit.  

please keep walking. please keep walking.

nope.  He landed right next to a young couple sitting together on their blanket.  kinda on top of them actually.

A bunch of people with all the beach equipment follow and begin to set up camp compared to our little island.  They had it all.  Screened in shelters, you name it....and it was all set up quickly. 

Then the music comes on. 

Let me tell you....i enjoy all kinds of music.  I  knew the songs that were playing and i like them.  BUT  Bitch better have my money (my favorite Notorious) doesn't really mingle well with everyone.  

i love Cardi B.  I can tell you that there were people on that beach that were made very uncomfortable with the lyrics.

Weather or not it was because of kids, or swearing or the heavy bass.........it really doesn't matter.

They dropped their private party into the middle of a public place and forced all of us t.o attend.

Yes there was drinking (i was jealous) yes, there was smoking, yes there was a raging party on a sunny sunday afternoon with loud music and people yelling over it to talk to each other.

I'm nosy as hell.  I like it when i can hear conversations.  Especially drunk men conversations.  

HOWEVER

I can't hear the ocean, I can't hear the earphones i finally gave in and stuck into my ears....i can't hear anything but them.  And it pissed me off.

Some things, you let go because your are just trying to have a nice day.  

Someone didn't though, someone actually asked them to please turn the music down.

Guess what happened.

Lots of cussing and angry man talk with the end result being that they turned the music UP and played on song on repeat.  

I was so happy when they left at the end of the day.

Like really happy.  LIke my eardrums were over joyed happy.  And my peaceful beach experience?  I still had it.  Because it was just me and i didn't have my elderly parents with me, or my kids, or people i had to take care of.

What would happen if i showed up at the beach with a large speaker and played, Cannibal Corpses.  Or maybe Mudvayne......Korn even.  I love it.  Lots of people love it.  But its' not the time or place.  

The beauty of a public beach is the differences we all share.  we all want to spend the day by the ocean. We all know the wee ones are going to kick sand because they haven't learned yet....we know kids will run and yell and scream because ........they are kids.

But when ADULTS plant themselves into the middle of other people and infringe on their good time......thats not okay.  

Rent a hall, go to someones house, go somewhere that a bunch of very different people from all walks of life are not all hanging out together.  

It's not okay to be rude.  It's not okay to force yourself on other people.  

EVERYONE should be able to take their families to the beach and enjoy the day.  Shit, i hear a kid cry and i get swivel head along with all the other mothers....we watch out, together, regardless of who the kids belong too.  Kid okay? okay, carry on.  

This is how it should be for everyone there.  Watch out for each other.  Make room, don't invade someones space because you can.  Not cool. 

So when you go to the beach or a pubic place, BE WHO YOU ARE, but allow others to do the same.  Don't be an asshole.  




 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...