Skip to main content

What if

What if I'm meant to be alone in order to be happy with myself?

What if, when i come home from work I cook myself a lovely dinner and sit down to it with a glass of wine and quiet contemplation.

Maybe even put on some relaxing music, lights some candles... rip off my bra. 

Dance around while i'm cooking?

Sing?

Clean up, if i feel like it.

Go to bed at 8:00pm because i like the warm softness of my blankets and the feeling of floating on clouds. 

Or stay up late watching "real" tv........because it's so ridiculous and entertaining.  Curled up on my couch in comfy pj's that are pretty too. 

Or search the web for more recipes to try, more life hacks, more decorating ideas, more projects i can do by myself, more places i'd like to go.......or stalk my ex's and try not to laugh.  Or cry.

Or......stare at a wall.

Maybe call a friend to come visit, so we can sit at my kitchen table and talk, laugh.  Or cry. 

Or call a friend and stop over their house to revel in the noise, the color, the activity of family life.  And then go home and appreciate my space of  one.

Long for my granddaughter.

My own children.

Maybe on Saturdays i'll get up early and go grocery shopping, take a walk on a trail, join an early morning yoga class....

After I can meet up with a friend for coffee before going home to do chores. 

Get dressed up, a little more makeup than usual, some perfume - go out.  To the movies, to dinner, to a concert, a show, a friends house..........it's the weekend, i'll go alone or with many.

Sleep in late on Sunday, hang around in pj's reading books, cooking or gardening.  Listening to music - dreaming. 

Talking on the phone, making plans to see people i love and miss.  Planning to travel.  So i can again come home to "my" space of peace and happiness.

It's time for me.  To be just me.  Boring, or dramatic, or needy or happy, sad, mad, glad.  Just. Me.





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...