Skip to main content

Happy New Year and all that

The holidays came, and went, faster than ever before.

I think this is where I start lamenting on my age........I turned 50.  I feel like 30.  Anyways, my brain does.  My body likes to remind me that parts will need to be ordered soon.  As much as certain parts of me hurt, I'm not mad about it.  I'm probably the best i've been in a long time. 

Now, If i can get Michael to stop bringing me goodies, i bet i could look better than i have in a long time too. Even that, i'm not mad about.

The holiday was indeed joyful.  Good news was had and good gifts were shared.  I was able to decorate a Christmas tree exactly how i wanted to and now.....I feel like it was over rated.  I missed the kids ornaments.  The tree was gorgeous if i do say so myself, but it lacked the spirit of Christmas's past.  I do believe that was exactly what i wanted when i decided to do this "planned" tree.  All i can say is be careful what you wish for.  Looking better doesn't mean it IS better.



I was able to spend time with Michael's family and my own this year because my children agreed to "fake Christmas".  We spent the real holiday with his family and then a week later we did it all over again with mine.  I must say, it extended the season and the excitement for me - the general good feeling of the holiday x 2.   There were tears, of course, because that's what i do.  I'm a big fat cry baby when i don't get my way, or when i'm afraid i won't get to see my kids as planned.  It rocks my little world.  But i also got a good lesson in not doing that EVER again to my children as it is manipulative and unwelcome - I just had to see someone else do it to learn.  My children, aren't, children.  They have their own lives just like they are supposed to.  I need to be grateful, not sad. 

It just feels like i've lost a lot over the past few years.  But in the same respect, i've gained as well.  And i don't mean pounds you asshole, whoever you are, that thought that. 

So what else?  I have no burning anything I need to flush out of my mind by writing.  Yet.  I'm sure it won't last long because i have so many feelings about so many things.....Consider this a respite.  It's a new year and who knows what can happen?  I've always been surprised in the past so this year probably won't be much different. 

Oh, one nice thing about the holiday is getting messages from people you don't get to see or talk to very often.  I don't believe in resolutions, as much as "life changes" but I DO resolve to keep better contact with people in one way or another.  Letter writing, phone calls, emails, or even cards.  Cards shouldn't be reserved for special occasions!   Email me at maribeth.lineberry@gmail.com if you want to exchange cards and I will send you my address.  For reals. 

I wish you all love, (of yourself and others) good health, good fashion sense, laughter and quiet contemplation in the New Year. 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...