Skip to main content

Surreal Collage #1

The homework assignment (yes, 49 and I still have homework) was to create a surreal collage using our own image somewhere in the collage.


Surreal eh?  Well, okay - i will throw a few interesting images together and slap my face somewhere and call it done.  (I'm also working on my final project which is an altered book consuming all my creative energy)  I lost a few hours doing this, actually listening to surreal music, something i never really knew existed and yet was a perfect background to my daze of searching, cutting, planning and pasting.

This morning when i really looked at it I thought - "this looks like a mad version of cinderella, my version"  The more i looked the more i identified with the whole damn thing which really did take place subconsciously as I was only trying to meet a deadline.

The emaciated (starving for male validation) body holding a blank mask (whatever he needs me to be) but a crown on my head makes it look like a good thing - the man, i'm gonna assume some kind of professional due to the paperclips (??) is on the other side of my room in the asylum,  complete with yellow brick road - encased in mist and clouds (as if heavenly) and yes, a dog like most men i've chosen to fall in love with.  I have a thing for red shoes, and this is what is offered, a single red shoe. Not complete, and not exactly what i prefer - which is comfort.

Yikes.

Surreal isn't supposed to have any meaning- except to whoever is looking at it - whatever they can pull from it and make their own.  For me, it's dreaming while awake and not thinking about what images i'm pulling, only that they fit.  That they are right.

This is probably my favorite assignment in this course so far.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...