Skip to main content

what home feels like

This commute has been........interesting.  It takes me a minimum of 45 minutes each way during rush hour traffic - the entire trip on highways. 

I think it was when i drove to NY to see my daughter - that i lost any inhibitions I had about highway driving.  The ex had said he would go with me and then that morning something better came up (his new screw) so I went anyways, by myself.  I'm grateful because if i hadn't gone alone and gotten over my anxiety this commute would leave me without a job.  It allowed me to meet Mike. Getting over my fear of the highway opened up my world.

That is a pretty massive change for me, this ability to drive anywhere and not feel terrified.  I still hate tunnels but i've even done THAT without the heart palpitations.  It's amazing what a person can do when they have to.  It has allowed me to be free, to go wherever i want whenever i want, with or without company. 

I don't rush home everyday, and generally i don't go directly home either.  This is also a big change.  I don't feel that almost panicky feeling anymore, like if i don't hurry up and get there i will not be able to prevent........what?  I think the first time i came home and found the chick next door sneaking out of the basement where the ex bf was should have been the last time.  Actually, had i been at full "Maribeth" and not already trained to shut up and take shit, there would have been some bloodshed.  Not hers. 

Ah, it's so nice to be back.  I have to thank the ex and give him credit for me being a social creature once again.  I learned how to be alone at parties where i knew no-one and be comfortable.  I learned how to deflect attention from men who didn't know I was actually there with someone because he was constantly disappearing.  I learned how to feel comfortable and confident speaking to anyone about anything.  I also learned how to not give a shit if everyone didn't like me.  Fact is, there were a lot of people i wasn't in love with being around myself.   

After having been married for so long to someone who required me to be attached to his hip, someone who would growl at old men in grocery stores if they made eye contact with me, someone who followed me to the library to make sure i wasn't cheating, went through our garbage to find "evidence" that i was, someone who was batshit crazy and almost brought me there with him - the ex bf was a nice change.  He couldn't give a shit what i did, with who or where.  As long as it didn't interfere with him.  It was the first step in getting back to myself.  And the break up was the second and final step.

Home for me has always hinged on a man.  I went from my mothers home (awful) to my future husbands home (awful) to living on my own with my children (difficult and scary but better) to living with my ex bf (lonely).  Then i lived with my closest friend and her family for almost a year and found out what normal looks like.  What a loving family looks like.  Not always sunshine and roses, but always home.  Always safe.  Always love.  Even when crabby or overwhelmed.  I got to see it, finally.......what i wanted for myself, that it is real and that it is possible to have.

So, now i'm not afraid of highways, not worried about what is going on at home when i'm not there, and I look forward to seeing Mike every day while actually living my life in the meantime.  I don't feel put on pause until he arrives.  I don't feel like everything hinges on what he is doing, or wants to do.  I feel like my own person who shares a life with another fully capable person.  This is what safe feels like.  This is how it feels to be loved, and love in return.  This is home. 

Now.  It's time to change my job and gain back 2 hours of the day to myself. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...