Skip to main content

one more first date

 Went on a first date Saturday with L.  He decided to come to me rather than the original plan of me going to him (Old Saybrook I had every intention of taking a ride in my old hood) because I have a cold and he didn't want me to have to drive.

Chivalrous. Considerate.

We decided to meet at a place near me that has outdoor seating and is on the water.  I arrived first, early as usual, and got to pick the table.  He arrived on time.

Responsible.  Courteous.

I saw him arrive, with American flags waving off his motorcycle.

Patriotic, proud of it.

As he was walking up to the restaurant he texted me he was here.  I was watching him approach.  Now I know why men get there first.  I enjoyed watching him with him not knowing he was being watched.

Handsome, full head of hair, Not small, not large but bigger than me....

And then he arrived at my table.  I stood up, gave him a big hug that felt nice and he sat down, took off his sunglasses and I saw he has very pretty eyes.  This is important to me.  If I can't look him in the eye and find him attractive it won't work.

The conversation was as it has been...easy, sometimes light and sometimes deep.  We can talk politics without getting crazy - also important to me.  Its so unattractive when people announce "if you are this or if you are that keep scrolling" although it does call out red flags and do us all a favor.

I offered to go dutch, he said he had this, and he paid.  

Also important to me.  In a relationship I do not expect to have him pay for everything however in the beginning I am old fashioned and feel some kind of way when a man allows me to pay into a first date.  Can't help it.  I'm not looking for a free meal, or using them, it's more a traditional feeling for me.  It also shows he has a sense of self and doesn't feel bitter about taking the role of a man.  (In my view)

This is probably not a popular opinion, but it is MY feeling- I cannot have romantic feelings for a man who goes dutch with me on the first date- that is an instant friend zone situation.  I don't know why.  It just is.  Perhaps its because I don't feel taken care of which translates into "safe".  Its not about being entitled, I always make sure i have enough to cover the whole bill if needed, because i am already taking care of myself.  If I'm going to date a man I want to know we will take care of each other.  Rambling.

We decide to go sit by the water for a while and continue the date.  We talk easily, have comfortable silence, laugh, and then it's time to end the date because he has a reunion to go to.  He said he would rather skip the reunion and stay with me, which i thought was nice ...but obviously he should go.  He wanted to show me his bike and when we got to it he gave me a nice, natural kiss.  Then the kiss got a little hot and i started laughing because........parking lot.  He knows how to hold a woman.  I'll say that.

Time to go!  I have zero intention of sleeping with this man right away.  The last time i did that i had my ass handed to me.  It won't happen again.  I like him.  He's handsome, pleasant, not boring, not a want to be badass........seems like a good man.  Time will tell.  

Last night we discovered that our birthdays are 2 days apart making us both Capricorns. We both agreed that explains a lot regarding our easy flow and common interests that aren't so common.  

So lets see what happens.  I'm in no rush, wasn't looking per usual and he landed in my lap.  I see no red flags yet, but maybe he does! lol  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...