Skip to main content

Joining a club

 Friday i got my signatures for sponsorship, and turned in my application to the Elks Club.  I've been wanting to join and finally motivated myself to do what needed to be done.  Now I have to go through an interview and induction if they decide i can join.  I'm looking forward to the community aspect, the ability to go somewhere and hang out and know people, and i am looking forward to becoming active in the community again.

I used to volunteer to with the Lions Club, working fairs and a few events.  I wanted to join, but women had a different group within the club to join.  I wasn't down with that.  When i moved I stopped volunteering because i didn't live in that community anymore, but also, that no women rule turned me off in a big way.

Yesterday i spent the day on Kevin and Cathys boat on the ocean.  It felt awesome.  I had brought my kindle and my switch....but instead we enjoyed good conversation..the day went by really fast and by the time i got home i was in bed.  It was still light out.  

Today i'm doing meal prep for the week and laundry.  As I was standing in the kitchen chopping, peeling and mixing, i was thinking how nice it would be to be doing this with a partner.  Wake up late, laze around in bed, get up and have some breakfast...then hang around the house together getting things done so the week goes smoothly.  Then, after the "chores" are done (together) we relax and watch a tv series, or a movie before having dinner (that we make together) or go out and have dinner and a walk.  

To many that sound like hell.  To me that sounds like comfort, security, being healthy and having a smooth running life with no drama.  Just a nice easy companionship.  

For now i do it alone, maybe forever.  But soon i'll meet more people, get involved with the club, and be social too.  I just want simplicity right now.  Peace.  

Back to making the jar salads.........Happy Sunday. 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...