Skip to main content

Simple pleasures


 Yesterday was a good day.

I got a lot of work done, actually turned my camera on for a Teams call (I don't usually) and my boss left cookies on my desk for me.

He has a major sweet tooth and he told me he was going to find something sweet in the cafe, did i want anything?  I told him i was eating protein and salads, sweets didn't count.

I had to run to another office to pick up my brand new official stamp, and when i came back there were two freshly baked cookies on my desk.

Damn it.

It's rude to turn down a gift.  Especially cookies.

I'm sure it won't bust my diet.

Then last night i threw a temper tantrum on the phone with my bestie because.......i had to cook dinner.

I've been meal planning to eat healthy and to save money....eat purposefully.  That requires cooking dinner every night except for my planned "leftover" nights.  Last night was a chicken stir fry that required a lot of chopping and making the sauce from scratch.  I didn't feel like it.  I didn't have a choice, because i'm not giving myself the choice.  So i bitched about it.

It was good.  I'll add it into the rotation and my old fashioned recipe book so i don't forget about it.  The second portion got packed and thrown into the freezer.  I've been freezing portions of meals getting ready for the possible surgery on my knee.  But that's a different blog.

Because i was a "good girl" i allowed myself some time to play animal crossing on my switch.  I'm trying to fancy up my island so my daughter is impressed and so my grandaughter will love it.  Low and behold, they were online and I got to play with my grandaughter and talk/see my daughter on facetime at the same time.  This, is one of my favorite things to do.  My grandaughter and i being silly and running around together virtually, and seeing my daughter on the phone.  

Now, how do i get my son to play too?  I don't know if it's possible but i'm gonna find out, bet your ass.

This must be why i bought the switch, which seemed a very impulsive buy at the time.  Everything works out for the best.

Hoping for another happy day today.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...