Skip to main content

This though

 Today i walked a mile on the Blue Trail. I've never been before and i can't tell you what it looked like because all i did was look down and try to keep up.





I went to dinner at my son's in laws for Easter.  My body was killing me from yesterday mornings work out in my living room where i probably pulled every muscle in my body.  I stayed a few hours and then looking forward to a butt load of traffic on the way home - headed out.

I must have timed it perfectly because i got home in record time.  I knew i still had several hours of light so i thought I should go for a walk on the Farmington Canal.....that probably there wouldn't be any bears.  I asked Mr. Cigar if he wanted to come and he told me "come here and walk the trails" 

Now.....my idea of walking on trails is to mosey along and look at stuff.  Enjoy nature.  Breathe.

HIS idea was to try and kill me.

He walked ahead of me.....way ahead of me, at a steady pace and i thought i was going to die trying to keep up with him.  I couldn't.  And he did it on purpose.  I walked a trail at a fast (for me) clip like my life depended on it.......which, it may have.  I'm not entirely sure he wouldn't have left me out there to figure it out.

I kept telling myself, this is too fast, i'm going to get hurt, i'm going to fall down, pain, i can't breathe, i'm gonna literally die ..........and it didn't matter because i had to keep going so i didn't lose him.  i'd say about half way through he waited for me, and told me to stop looking down at my feet and to look ahead of myself and just walk,  Don't think, just go.  And i had every excuse ready to come out of my face but he was already off.....and i followed.  And i hated him a little bit.

more that a little bit.

I swore he was purposely not allowing me to catch up, because i am hella slow.  All of a sudden i thought......i'm gonna catch up to that bastard if it kills me.  And i picked up speed and promptly fell on my face.  Then i jumped up before he could turn around and see me on the ground and thought I WILL DO THIS without dying.

And i huffed, and puffed and told myself to keep going, just keep going.  You got this.  You can do this.  

Until we hit the hill we had initally come down and i realized i had to go up that fucker.  He was egging me on, not encouraging me, he was egging me .....told me i didn't need to hold on to trees, JUST WALK..and i started to panic.  He said "get out of your head" and kept right on walking.  Understand....he was way ahead of me.  I got about half way and started to get dizzy, then stumbled.  He was at the top and said, "don't stop, don't sit down.  It will be harder if you stop, keep going"......and then i couldn't see him anymore.  I took another step, and sat down on the ground and cried like a baby.  My body was shaking, i was drenched in sweat, i couldn't breathe and wasn't going to make it up the goddamned hill.

THIS fucking SUCKS  HE's such a DICK.

Then a voice in my head.........get the fuck up and do this right NOW.  I stopped my mental breakdown crybaby sit and panic episode .............stood up.........and started again.

He was right.  It was harder.

So i went slow and steady.  I didn't try to catch up.  I just put one foot in front of the other and focused on just doing it.

And the thing is............I did.

He beat my ass, of course.  He stood at the edge of the trail where we had parked, telling me i was almost there.  That it was almost over.  Come on.  you got this.

And.......i did.

I may have cried.......temper tantrum? release?  whatever you want to call it..........i made the choice to keep doing it.  

I have NEVER been a physical person.  I fall down for no reason.  My whole life ive been told i'm a clutz.  

He told me everyone he walks with on that trail falls down at least once.  

He said it's not easy, that trail walking will strengthen my ankles and that walking on pavement is good for endurance and cardio, but trail walking is a workout.

I love that he EXPECTED i could do it when so many people before him, men, never had any belief that i could.  That i have never had that belief myself.

That i could do better than what i thought i could.  

Will i do it again?  Yes.  Will i do it at that pace?  Probably not by myself.  But i will be conscious that i must sweat, i must breath hard, i must be UNCOMFORTABLE and I must not be afraid to fall.  I will do this trail by myself and with him until i can do it without challenge.  Like he did.......he just WALKED and smoked a CIGAR while he did it.  

I may fall in love with this prick.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...