Skip to main content

Flash of red

It happens like this -

You are carrying on, doing your thing, working your day, communicating with people - nothing has gone wrong.  You are fine.  More than fine, you are good.  You are smiling even, and looking forward to events to take place later in the week.  And then,

You take you earrings off because damn, they are annoying you today.  They are the dangly hippie ones that you adore, but are a little heavy.  You hold them up thinking about where to put them so you don't lose them...and you think how you used to hang orphan earrings in your rear view mirror when you were younger and adorned your vehicle with bits of your self....And then,

You remember early on, but not so early that you felt you had no right, getting into his car and closing the door.  You are so occupied with him, and getting yourself situated that it takes you a minute to see it, and then another minute for it to sink in, before you feel that heat roll through your chest down to the base of your being.  The sweat begins to pop out on your skin as the flush of anger passes through you........and you are silent.  Because the car is now moving.  Because you don't want to have a fight.  Because you don't want to believe what you are seeing.

Would he really have balls that big?  To leave it there on purpose if it were anything BUT innocent?  I mean he has to realize it's there.  He's not hiding it.  So it must be innocent.  It has to be.  Because if it isn't, i am a fool.

It's red, and it's cheap - probably from Claire's - costume jewelry, something a stripper might wear.  gaudy - can't miss it.  (before statement necklaces became a thing)

He asks me whats wrong, he can feel the vibe.  And then,

I ask "what the fuck is that?" and point.  He laughs.  I'm so relieved, its something so dumb probably and i'm totally over reacting, again, without reason. (again?)  Right?  Right???

He laughs and says i worry too much.  That he gave a friend a ride and she left it there.  Stop over reacting.......

When is the last time (ever?!) that you have removed your jewelry in a mans vehicle and left it to hang in his rear view mirror?

I asked "who" and he wouldn't say......."a friend"..........and then,

I accepted this.  I knew it was bullshit, I knew it was bullshit.......I KNEW IT WAS BULLSHIT.  And then..... i let it go.

Just now, remembering this, the rage passed through me, the rage that i should have taken out on him when i had the chance. I'm shaking and I feel like breaking shit.  And then.......I let it go.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...