Skip to main content

What do I really need?

 Coffee.

This morning I woke up and stepped on the scale.  It's working.  I have found my problem, which is snacking at night.  No matter what i snack on, it keeps me from losing.  So.....no more snacking at night.  This is going to be a hurdle.  For some reason, night is when i want food.  I can go all day and be fine, and then.......

I don't keep bad stuff in the house.  For this very reason.  And when i do have anything i know damn well i shouldn't eat, it's gone within days.  I'm not normal.  I have to have it all.  i'm not content with just a little once in a while.

So.  Mystery solved.  Battle on.

I walked into my kitchen and started my coffee.  Looked in the fridge to see what was in there that needed to be thrown out, due to my revelation.  Nothing.  The fridge is bare bones.  There is a case of beer that has been in there for a year now.  Does beer go bad?  I have a few truly's left over from New Years....and protein drinks.  Okay, no threats there.  On to the freezer.  Frozen chicken, beef and veggies.  A few bagels and a loaf of bread.  Bare bones.

This got me to thinking.  When i retire, and live in a van, this kind of food storage will not be available to me.  It will, on a very small scale....and it looks like i'm not gonna have a problem with that.  I should probably start making a list of kitchen items i cannot live without comfortably.  Everyone is different.  I'm going to want space in my van (home)for only the things i cannot live without.  Coffee.

I can't imagine waking up in the middle of nowhere and not being able to brew some coffee.  I'm so grateful i began drinking it black years ago because that simplifies things so much.  And it doesn't go bad, at the rate i drink it.  It only requires water, which i will need for many other things.  And a way to make it.  There are so many way to make coffee now that i'm confident that will not be a problem.

Add to list:

Coffee

Water

Cozy bed to nest in

A place to sit comfortably and work on laptop in case weather is not cooperative.  This space can double as a table to eat at for the same reason.  I plan on living out of the van more than in it.  But you never know with rain. Life goes on, and i'll need to be able to function inside comfortably.

I won't have any space for storage in the front of the van, which i intend to keep very commercial and generic due to stealth living.  I need a cup holder.....for coffee...and a secretly comfortable drivers seat.  I will be able to move back and forth from the front to the back, but it will look like a work van from the outside.  

Not a white van.

Thats just creepy.

Hopefully, i will never have to move again until i move into the van.  I hope where i am continues to be a happy place i can afford until the time that i can hit the road.  The van purchase will happen at least a year before retirement, so i can do my minimal build up and actually take it on the road for weekends and vacations to figure out how much more i can live without happily.  

The point here, is to simplify my life.  Not be caught up in consumerism, telling me I will only be successful and happy if i have all this STUFF they want me to buy and keep me in debt.  I want enough.  Thats it.  Thats all.  I want to be able to pay for my lifestyle without going into debt (yes, i will have a van loan) any more than i have to be.  And the only reason i'll have a van loan is because it's my home, I want to get a lot of miles out of it with as little problems as possible.  I want a blank slate to start with.  And lets face it, when the time comes for me to give it up, i want something that will still be valuable to sell.

I mean.  I'm gonna need money for coffee.  Even when i'm 80.  So theres that. 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...