Skip to main content

oh a good one!

 Yesterday I got myself into a pissy mood because I'm trying not to spend ANY money BUT all the books I want to read and have on hold at the library still have a really long wait list.  I looked on all my other apps and nope, not available anywhere. (and my list is LONG) So I have to buy a book or keep waiting.  Finally, it occurred to me that I have taken books out at work before. We have a small leisure selection.  So I trotted my desperate-to-read butt over to them and.......hit the jackpot.

The Silent Patient- Alex Michaelides (started this one first)

Lessons in Chemistry -Bonnie Garmus

Happy Place- Emily Henry

and I stopped looking after that because these three have been on my "want to read" list for EVER.

One can not understand how happy this made me.  Yes, I could browse for available books in the stacks of the public library, but I wanted to read THESE books. Yes, I have a kindle stacked with unread books....but not THESE books.  I'm so glad I didn't just buy a book like I usually give in and do.  However, I'm on a no- spend diet until all my credit cards are paid off.  

I just heard there is a toilet paper shortage again. People are jack-asses. Toilet paper is not imported.  I have an inexpensive bidet that I never installed but I'm doing it now.  The management company where I live just recently sent out a "do not install bidets" email......don't care.  This hiney needs to be shiny.  

.....I lied above. 

The reason I couldn't buy a book is because it would be "another" book.  I already bought the book "Trust" by Hernan Diaz in the morning.  It was the winner of the Pulitzer Prize for fiction and is considered one of the New York Times's 100 best books of the 21st century.  "A riveting story of class, capitalism, and greed" says Esquire.  That caught my attention.  Seems timely.  

Some people are addicted to drugs, alcohol, whatever....I'm addicted to buying books.  It's a problem because I don't always READ said books...but I intend to.  

Enough about my problems.

I'll have plenty of time to read because I'm shooting for Nun status this winter.  Everyone is running around partnering up, getting ready to settle in with "someone" until the weather gets warm again.  I'd rather be alone than settle for some guy that is probably going to annoy the living crap out of me.  I'm not easy.  I'm set in my ways.  The good part is I enjoy my own company, and....

I've got access to good books right down the hall from my office.  

Fuck yeah!  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...