Skip to main content

Grief

 I keep thinking i hear him.  And I find myself stopping in the middle of a routine, realizing, he's not there.

This morning i swore i heard his little feet tapping on the floor.

I feel a little crazy.  

Yesterday i thought i did fairly well at work.  I had told them why i wasn't coming in Tuesday, so when they saw me they all were giving condolences, and some sharing their own losses.  It felt good to know i don't work with assholes.  Some people just don't understand the bond.  Especially when it's just you and your dog.  

When i went home it hit me hard when i opened the door and he did not come to greet me.  It was fresh again.  Any scab forming got ripped off.  I was messy.  And i let myself BE messy.  I loved him very much and he was a huge part of my life every single day......i think a few meltdowns are warranted.  Like i tell others, "give yourself grace"......i gave myself grace. 

I'm not sure what to do with his collar.  I've been carrying it around with me in my pocket and i'm afraid i will lose it.  This morning i left it home.  I think, i will take a few of my favorite pictures of him and make a shadow box.  I will put his pictures, his collar, and a piece of his blanket into it.  Maybe some of his hair.  This sounds insane but i have one of his teeth too.  This will be my homage to him because forgetting him isn't something that will ever happen.

I removed his name tag from his collar and put it on a chain around my neck.  He wore this for 10 years and i feel closer to him having it near my heart.

Add some guilt to the emotional rollercoaster. 

I went to Bills Tuesday night and spend time with the boys and the puppy.  Bill opened the door and handed me River and walked away.  I had a few hours of doggie time.  The boys are actually listening to me, but i'm not sure if it's because they just happen to want to do what i'm telling them, or because they are listening to my direction.

I've been very conscious of not being a peer in the pack.  Bill would point out when they were showing dominance and i would re-direct them.  Tuesday, Kane nipped at River through the gate and without thinking i sternly told him "NO". He put his head down like he knew he was in trouble.  

When we were outside Bill was yelling something in the house and i couldn't hear him.  So i automatically told both Kane and Abel "HOUSE" and even though i had literally just taken them out they both ran into the house.

So maybe we are getting there.  Maybe i can be dog mom to two Cane Corsos and a Drahthaar puppy.  Maybe i can let myself get attached.  These are NOT my dogs.  Bill is the boss. I just enforce his rules. I never wanted large dogs because i knew i'm not the disciplinarian that dogs like that need.  And i hate it when people HAVE large breeds and don't train them.  They are making people hate their dog and it's their fault.  They are putting their dog and themselves in danger because they are twats.

So i never entertained the thought of having a large dog.

Here i am now, step momming.  Friday night i'm dog sitting while Bill goes to a party with his business partner......smh.  Funny thing is, i prefer dog sitting to going to a party where i don't know anyone.  I'm not in "meet new people" mode at the moment.

Enjoying the boys, and River also makes me feel guilty.  But they are totally different from Miyagi.  Bill has been really quite supportive regarding Miyagi.  I texted him when i came back from the animal hospital and told him Miyagi was gone.  He was sleeping, but when he woke up he was immediately on the phone to me.  He checked in on me all during that night, knowing i was struggling.  He told me i did the right thing, etc. But he acknowledged how much it hurts, etc.  He was there for me.  And  that has been noted.

I know it's never going to be the same as Miyagi.  We were soul mates. 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...