Skip to main content

How do i know?

 Am i doing what i always do and pull back from everyone when i'm feeling raw?  OR am i being selective in who i spend energy on when i'm at a point where i need to focus energy on my own healing?

It's hard to tell.

I'm highly productive when i spend the evening alone - listening to an audiobook or watching a movie while i make a blanket, or bullet journal.  I'm relaxed, and i'm focusing on the story while i produce a gift for a friend.

When i'm avoiding people, my classic defense mechanism, i'm ususally staring at walls and feeling like shit.

So maybe it's progress.

Yesterday i had a conversation with a co-worker who is retiring and she said she could never date again, and that she didn't want to.  She said going out in the public is never as fun as she thinks it's going to  be.  People are horrible.

And.........I hate to say this, but she's not entirely wrong.  Rudeness prevails in those streets.  And if you aren't about getting into a conflict, it's better to stay safe and stay home.

I so feel that.

I'd much rather go to a friends house than out in public.  It's expensive and it's around people.  

The life she described sounds so wonderful.  Home with our pets, doing our crafts, reading books, talking with long time friends........being happy in our space.  No stress, no drama, no pressure.

Yesterday i felt a LOT of pressure BECAUSE Tuesday night i got a "goodnight" from Mister.  No flowery prose, no youtube link for a song.......just "goodnight".  And yesterday morning i got a "good morning"......thats it.  Not big poetic welcome to the day.

And that made me pause.

Ah Ha! here it is!  the withdrawal.  

Now, he could be holding back due to me telling him he's a bit much.  OR he could be playing that man game.  How do i know? and honestly..........do i care?

The past couple of nights have been so lovely.  No talking.  Just being.  I feel reenergized.  And tonight he is coming over.  Why? I don't know.  We have no plans but i KNOW i do not want to sit around talking for hours on end.  I can't.  I won't.

And no dinner.  All this staying in when he's supposed to be 'courting" me........nope.  Take me out, or cook for me at your house.  

I think i'll tell him i need a coffee delivery, and ask him to come over around 7pm.  That's 2 hours before my bedtime.  I already told him i'd be doing laundry.

Am i being a bitch?  Is this how it's supposed to be and thats why it feels so alien?  I'm not ready to just break it off with him.  I do like him.  But he does stress me the fuck out.

Here's my motto "no decision needs to be made at this moment"  This isn't life or death.  I have time.  But if he tells me ONE MORE TIME how much i mean to him i'm going to lose my shit.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...