Skip to main content

Self love



Less than 4 years ago i was at my heaviest - and most miserable.  I kissed 250lbs up close and personal.  I never made it, but it was knocking at the door.  Then i moved closer to work, had less of a commute, most of my time to myself outside of work and i enveloped myself into a cocoon.  The weight didn't increase, nor did it leave.   I would start to watch what i eat and then i'd ruin it in one day by binge eating.  I was always hungry.  Always had "food noise".....when could i eat again?  what could i eat? how much could i eat?  

It's a real thing.  And when you are unhappy, food is your friend. Anyways, my friend.  my comfort.  my reward.  my punishment.  

After starting and stopping for over 10 years, I went to see about bariatric surgery and did all the testing and classes.  I was scheduled for the surgery and i backed out.   I was going under the knife to lose wieght?  I was going to remove part of my stomach for .......what?  I am a single woman, living alone, depending soley on my own income and i'm going to go do something that could have serious complications.  

No.  There had to be a better way.  I just accepted that i'm fat, i'm getting older, my body hurts and i'm always going to be alone.  Thats that.  And then my insurance changed.

I had to lose weight.  I was pre-diabetic........which everyone is if they AREN'T diabetic, for fucks sake.  But my BMI was 38.  I was shortening my life, limiting what i could do, and.........I wanted to be able to get down on the floor with my granddaughter and play.  Thats what really did it.  I wanted to be able to walk up stairs.  

Things most people take for granted.

Lots of stuff happened.  And I started taking the GLP-1 and began losing the pounds.  However, it has taken me 9 months to lose 50lbs when i see others melting at a much quicker pace.  I don't care.  As long as i'm not gaining.

I went on that walk in the woods with Bill....in April of 2025 and i thought i was going to have a heart attack.  That last hill made me lose my mind.  I sat on the ground crying, dizzy thinking this is so embarrassing.......and then i wiped my tears.  Told myself to get off my ass and get up the hill or die.  I did it.  Not much of an accomplishment, but definetly a change of mind.

I deserve to feel better and do better and look better.  I deserve to be comfortable in my body.  From that day i accepted who i am right now at that moment, but to always try to do better for myself.  I started walking, excersizing, going to physcial therapy.  And i started feeling better.  I still hurt.  I still creak,  But now, walking isn't something that is a big deal.  Walking very fast is a challenge, but that will be improved also over time.

I start and stop, start and stop.  When the weather started getting cold i stopped walking.  Then i stopped stretching. But i got back on the horse.   I'm still trying to talk myself into going to the gym that i joined but i'm scared.  I hate gyms.  It will be my next big hurdle.  And i will most likely be mad i didn't do it sooner.

For now, i walk around the hospital and up and down the stairs when i need to get away from my desk.  I see the other regulars doing it too.  We recognize each other.  Right now i only go up and down one flight in between rounds, but next week i'm moving it up to two flights. and so on.  The goal is to get to the roof from the basement.  Eventually.  I want my ass up where it belongs - and more important i want my legs to be strong.  

Bill encourages me.  I appreciate that.  I'm not sure if he will go on the April 2026 walk on that same trail with me, or not.  I hope so.  Wanting to lose weight started with my granddaugher, but wanting to have a healthier body started the day i realized how much my body had changed in such a short period of time.

Aging sucks.

So there i am, and here i am today.  I would like to lose 50 more lbs but my goal is actually to fit into a pair of jeans i wore when i was 40 and had the band SEVENDUST sign my pants.  I want to put that pair of jeans on again.  It sounds silly, but its the goal.  Not the pounds, or the size.  Those jeans.  

I felt beautiful and sexy in those jeans.  

I feel beautiful and sexy today.  And i still want better for myself.  Onward.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...