Skip to main content

It's about me. duh.

 i am constantly checking in with myself.  How do I feel?  What makes me feel that way?  Is it perceived, or reality?  Are my stumbling blocks tripping me up? Do i need to have any feelings at all about certain things?  or comment?  or be involved?

I take a few seconds to run through these questions in my mind whenever i get "triggered" now.  I find that i am on the defensive a LOT, and that it mostly turns out to be uncalled for.

This years Christmas plans have changed.  My kids, adults, have changed the script to suit them - and it is perfectly fine.  Literally all i care about is seeing them.  Spending time with them.  I want to wake up Christmas morning with my granddaughters excitement over Santa visiting.

This year will be funny.  My girls are coming to CT and we are all staying with my son and his wife.  We are deferring to the fact that my DIL is......shhhhhh.  And we are all very very excited.  So Santa's elves will be confused and only leave a few things at Uncle's house because they will have to carry it all back on the train.  My daughter is a smart cookie.  I was ready to fill under the tree with all her presents not thinking about the return trip.  duh grandma.  

Also, being in Connecticut, and hour from home, allows me to spend the evening with Bill.  We can have a nice dinner and exchange presents.  I felt bad about him being alone all day, but that is his choice.  God knows people have tried to force me out on holidays (my birthday) because they "felt bad" when all i wanted to do was chill at home alone, perfectly happy, eating snacks in my pj's.  

This year we can do that together.  I can have the best of both worlds.  My family, and the man i'm in love with. 

Ugh.  That is so hard to say.  That is such a stumbling block for me.  The word causes me anxiety because it's coupled with pain, loss, betrayal.  

But here's what i know.  I can love someone and not be with them if thats how it needs to be.  Love doesn't mean allow disrespect, or mistreatment.  Just because i love, doesn't mean i forsake myself.  And THAT is what keeps me safe.  It may hurt.....it may be scary sometimes.....but all this hard shell around me needs to be cracked.  I deserve to feel soft.  warm.  happy.

I can be happy that this, softening, was the result of knowing him.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...