Skip to main content

Today is my birthday. Yay.

 First, i forgot to write about the train ride home from NYC.  We found our train, walked all the way down to the very very end of it and there were no more seats left.  So we walked alllll the way back up the track, thinking we would have to take a later train.  The train started to leave, and when the last car pulled up to us, the conductor stopped the train.  There were two almost empty cars (no one walks up that way to see) and she told us to hop on.  We were so happy!  as we walked onto the train we said thank you thank you and i said "merry christmas" she was very pretty and had a huge smile.  She was our angel.  As the train started up again she thanked everyone over the speaker for letting us get on the train, and told them we said Merry Christmas.

It was just a really nice thing for a random stranger to do.  Acts like hers give me faith in humanity.

Now.  Today.  Today is bittersweet because i thought i might have my birthday celebrated by Bill, that he would do something, no matter small or large. He is working, and it's going to snow tonight, so i won't be seeing him.  He made that fairly clear.  He didn't offer to celebrate tomorrow, or another day.  But i still had hope that maybe he would deliver flowers, or SOMETHING to make me feel special to him.

It's 3:30pm.  I'm not going to hold my breath.  I think i already knew it wasn't important.  Shrug.  Yes, i feel some kind of way because i wanted him to be different.  He's a grown up.  He knows social niceties....he has to know i would have hurt feelings.

Then i started thinking about some of the things he's been saying.  Like this morning, when he called me, didn't say happy birthday, and started talking about his ex.  Again.  Like, all the time.  Not just one ex. All of them.  But some things he's been saying haven't added up to things he has told me in the past.  

So i did something that i knew i probably shouldn't do.  I reached back out to his ex, and asked if they were still seeing each other because i was also dating him.  She freaked out.  Called me every name in the book, and told me he said i was fat, out of shape and not attractive to him.  Also, that SHE was too skinny.  with a smiley face.

I should have felt something other than "is she two years old?".   She wouldn't answer if they were together.  Or if she continued to talk to him or see him.  But she did reach right out to him immediately and he in turn reached out to me.

Now he won't respond to my texts.  

The whole thing feels very juvenile, with my part included.  I had an uncontrollable urge to verify which of his stories was the truth so i went to the source.  This should not be an issue at all.  I shouldn't have to be reaching out to anyone in regard to the man i'm dating.

but i did.

And i thought i would be upset but i'm extremely calm.  We've been here before, and i went back to him.  That is my fault.  I should have talked to him about the discrepancy in his stories and he shouldn't be constantly talking about his ex, or exes.  

He should have made an effort for me today.  

Kate, Doug and Jen's daughter, drove an hour to bring me roses, a balloon and a gift.  She dropped it all off and told me how much they all love me.  

I have love in my life.  It's just the men i pick that can't love me back.  I think i'm too much.  Or they aren't enough.  But i'm tired.  Being disappointed on my birthday is old hat.  I'm used to it.  I've never been celebrated the way other woman are.  It's just the way it is.

When i answered Bills text the last time we got back together i told myself that if i was going to do this again i was going to make every effort to make it work, or ignore him and move on with my life.  So i will see what comes of today's fiasco, although part of me knows.

I don't demand enough in return for my love.  If i feel it, i lose sight of what i deserve.  I thought he would do better.  Maybe i'm wrong.  Maybe he does have something planned, or did.  Or maybe, just maybe, i'm not the one.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...