Skip to main content

What do you do when you don't know what to do?

 So last night was a perfect example of "i'm fucked" unless i reach out for help.  Not everything in life can be taken on by yourself.  Sometimes, you just need to ask for help.

That isn't easy for me on so many levels.  In a relationship, my expectation is that we help each other when needed and possible.  But "outsiders", friends, family, the general public........no.  You take care of it yourself.  Even if the results are not ideal.

However, if i saw someone in need, which i have (the angry man terrorizing the car full of women in a parking lot in newington)....I'm going to give assistance, even if not asked.

We have one life.  We cannot walk through it as if other people don't matter, or as if we don't need them.  As much as we would like to believe that, it's not true.

So do better.  Ask for help when needed instead of struggling and possibly making the situation worse and having it removed from your hands entirely.  There is no shame in asking for help.  AND offer help.  Do not be blind to the people around you and how you can help someone in need.  Especially this time of year.  I'm not talking about handing out your money, so much as - try to make peoples lives shine a little brighter.  Smile.  look them in the face.  Let them know they are seen.  Sometimes, thats all it takes.  

I saw on tiktok (shut up i know) that a woman takes all her pocketbooks that she doesn't want anymore (that she would donate to a charity) and fills them with women's essentials (chap stick, hand lotion, sanitary products, face wipes, etc.) and keeps them in her trunk.  When she comes across a homeless woman she simply gives her the bag.

What that woman does with it: be appreciate or tell her to fuck off, is HER business.  She can throw it away if she wants, but the giver tried.  It's nothing to be offended by.  Many homeless people are mentally ill.  They might tell you to fuck off and then go use what you gave them and find some kind of pleasure in it.  Or not.  We don't control other people.  Only ourselves.

Can we save the world by giving out old pocketbooks and trial size hygiene products? Probably not.  But it's a start.  It that were the mentality instead of "get a job you loser" when you know nothing about that person.........maybe we would start on a kinder world.

Tis the season.  Sad that there is a season of giving and not a constant state of being.  We need to take care of each other.  This state of "haves" and "have nots" is easily solved when judgement and fear are taken from the equation.

Thats my thought of the day. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...