Skip to main content

Best Friend

 I don't know how she puts up with me sometimes.  She is the only one that I talk to almost daily, because she calls me.  If i don't answer, she texts me to answer my phone.  She doesn't let me not talk to her.

She is the one who is going to know i'm missing if i'm ever missing.  She will be the one to send up the alarms.  She is probably the only one who cares for me at that level.  

And yesterday i answered her call, grumpy about it. I'm still struggling with the dreaded "D" word. She says "I called you yesterday and you didn't answer" and i said "I don't want to talk to anyone on Sundays" (which is true) and she said "SINCE WHEN"....she gives me shit.  Because she is the only one who can.  And i give HER shit, because i'm not scared of her.   Yell all you want I aint skeert. 

We are total opposites - yet have remained friends for over 50 years.  We have plans to terrorize a nursing home when we are too old to take care of ourselves.  We are going to share a room and talk AT each other.  No one will understand us, but we will understand each other.  We drive each other crazy.  It seems right to drive everyone around us crazy when we get to the exalted age of "We don't give a fuck",  

I will be listening to heavy metal, she will be listening to country.  I will be tripping balls on acid (thats the plan)  and she will be taking a shit ton of boring medication.  I will be doing shots for breakfast, and she will take all day to drink one coffee. I will be wearing red lipstick and having my extra long (finally) nails painted blood red, or black.  She will be rejoicing in not having to wear any makeup, but will still use the cream to prevent swollen under eyes.  My clothing will still be black, and hers will have some kind of glitz or sparkle on it.  I will be barefoot, she will have carefully curated shoes to match her glitzy t-shirts. I will be listening to true crime podcasts, or watching horror movies.....she will be reading romance novels and watching rom-coms. 

Opposites.  And we know each other inside and out better than anyone else in the world, including, even especially, our children.  

And ........the most important thing.........she's the older one. HAHAHAHAHA

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...