Skip to main content

Change is good

 My boss had his call this afternoon, with his boss (The BIG BOSS) and he was told who would be taking his place when he retires in July.

This has been on my mind for months now, wondering what was going to happen.

Although my boss is stepping down from his main position, he will still be here for another year, consulting for his replacement and administering my programs.  So i have another year with him, at least. Being completely selfish, i am not looking foward to his retirement.  I'm trying not to think too much about it.

He is 82.  He's more than earned it, i'd say.  But i'm selfish.

Working beside someone as smart as he is, as important as he is, and having him value my input, and think i'm good at what i do has done wonders for my self esteem.  I thank the teacher, him.  

My position is weirdly divided, between academic and clinical.  I'm paid out of one pot, but i work in several......if that makes sense without divulging entirely too much.  So the idea that i will be "absorbed" by said pot......did not at all sound attractive to me.

The thought is that the new executive may want to pick his own support.  But, i'm not technically support. I manage my own programs, and my boss is the administrator because Providers do not respect anyone but other Providers.  Sad, but totally true in most cases.  It has nothing to do with me.  It's just a thing.

Doctors manage other Doctors, and anyone else is almost invisible if they don't like what you have to say.  Trust me, i've experienced this several times in this position, and many many times in previous positions.  But my boss supports me 100%, which may be the difference in my happiness factor.

So today he found out what we've been waiting to hear.  He knows i want to know, but would never ask him - It will be announced soon enough.  What he did tell me is that it is very good news, and that i will be happy.

So........he's staying?

Haaaa

I trust his judgement.  And if he thinks all is well, than i can relax a small bit.  But honeslty, i'm still jumping out of my skin not knowing what direction my professional future is going in.

So maybe tonight i will have an adult beverage to celebrate the "good news".

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...