Skip to main content

apology

 I'm a believer in accepting apologies.

But they need to match whatever the apology is for.

This morning i woke up to a text message - basically telling me to accept his apology because he never used to do even that.

Oh, my fluttering heart.  How fucking romantic and grown up.

I ignore it, thinking, more must be coming.

nope.

Here is the clear structure of a GENUINE apology:

Acknowledgment- state clearly what you did or said that caused harm.

Responsibility: Own your role without excuses or deflection

Expression of regret: communicate genuine remorse

Impact recognition: Show how you understand how your actions affected the other person.

Amends/ Repair: Offer to make things right, or change behavior

Commitment to change: Explain how you'll do it differently in the future.

Extra step, Invitation: give the person space to respond.


Not everyone is raised the same.  I've been on my own since 16 with no adult influence beforehand aside from my fathers advice on boys......And i figured it out.  You have to want to do it. 

My response just now to his early text apology was:

Your anger is huge and your apology is weak.  Not impressed.  Have a good day. 

I think we both may enjoy the drama of the back and forth.  This must be the childish draw i have to him.......i'm familiar with this behavior.  

But i have moved into my adult period in life, where peace is more important to me.  That is the difference.  All these "feelings" are exhilarating and make me feel excitement.....because its base.  It's juvenile.  And its beneath me and what i deserve.

This acceptance of his initial apology in person last Sunday was genuine, i wanted to believe it, i wanted this to work.  But it's very obvious it's not.

It takes two.  And lip service to very big issues doesn't cut it. 

Just received yet another TEXT (the laziest form of communication)  saying "okay. I guess i failed"

Yes, Sir.  And that kind of response will keep you failing at women.  Good luck.  


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...