Skip to main content

My way

 Limp Bizkit has been hitting me hard lately- heard "My Way" on the way into work this morning and it hit right. It also brought up a random memory from years and years ago.  When i was a badass.

When i left my husband I went a bit wild.  All those years of being an old lady in a young womans body came back with a vengeance.  I once went on 5 dates in one day.  All coffee dates....i was completely wired for the next 3 days.  

I had a lot of men interested in me.  I was in my 30's, skinny, wreckless and I did not care who you were or what you had.....i wanted fun.  I was ready for good times.

Yes, i had met my next relationship already, but he was on again off again (sound familiar?) and he wasn't looking for anything serious and neither was I.  Getting tied down was the last thing i wanted, i told myself.  Freedom was the ticket to ride.

One night i went out with a co-worker to the Red Dog Saloon, a local biker bar.  She was meeting her boyfriend, a Nomad, and they had a friend of his they wanted me to meet.  I was about it.  Biker, means bike.  Bike means rides and fun.  

This memory came up because of the song, "my way"........i had a Harley barely there tshirt on that said something to the effect of "my way or the highway" and this man had a big problem with it.

He was cute.  Bad boy.  Probably associated (not yet a big no no for me) and a wee bit scary I suppose.  I was in my "you don't scare me" phase, and I was nonchalant when talking wth him. He told me he didn't like my shirt.  I said I didn't much care what he liked or didn't like.

It wasn't a match.

No sense of humor has always been  a big turn off to me.  And the inability for a big scary biker man to come up with something quippy in return? ewww. Sorry, the dumb ones are a turn off.

I've never been into dumb. 

Apparently i enjoy assholes.  But i draw the line at dumb ones.

Then i started thinking, wondering, where did she go?  Where did that woman who could care less about any mans opinion go?  Was it because i basically had my pick if i showed interest?  Was it because i was too tired and broken down by marriage that the idea of caring was just too much?

Or was i given a second chance and i squandered it.

It didn't take long to fall for Wolf, (my ex's nickname when i wrote about him all those years ago).  He looked scary, but he was smart.  Quietly smart.  Ashamed of smart........like it wasn't fitting his persona. But i saw it.  And i fell for him, and all the drama associated with that relationship, without hesitation.

Is that what is happening now?  The familiar cat and mouse game? Who is hunter who is prey?  Am i overthinking as i usually do?  What is drawing me to this man?  He's not very nice.  He has a violent nature, when he drinks he is an unbearable twat, and he thinks he knows everything about everything.

He makes me speechless with anger sometimes.  

And he makes me laugh like a loon. Listens to and dissects music with me.  Discusses business with me like i understand and have something of value to offer with my thoughts. 

He has been successful in motivating me to move, to push, to stop telling myself "i cant'.  

He never has anything sweet to say.  NEVER.  He is a ball buster supreme.

He is obnoxious.

And i see inside him.  

I'm wasting my time, or investing it.  I'm what he needs and he's what i need, or we are toxic.  I can't tell from one day to the next.

What i AM sure about is I'm not losing myself to suit him.  Thats where the conflict always comes in.  I'm not regressing into peaceful little mouse to tame the lion.  "to keep the peace"

Fuck that.

Miss "my way" is a bit much for my age - but she's still there inside me.  I'm still a badass in my own way.  I can still walk away when i know a situation has been bled dry.

I wonder how i can feel so differently about two men who are on complete opposite ends of personality. The last time i felt FEELINGS for a man it was Mr. Tattoo and i still have inklings of regret and longing, and all that with barely knowing him.  He hit all the right spots.  He made me happy.

And Mr. Cigar makes me crazy.  He pisses me off to no end. And i keep coming back for more, as does he.  If not one, then the other- we keep ending up back in each others presence.

Make it make sense. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...