Skip to main content

Just do it

 I was so tempted yesterday to go back and forth with Mr. Cigar.  To argue.  

For what.

I controlled my instinct to fight.  Because i don't want the prize.

Yes, i want to have the good parts, the parts that felt right - but the temper, the violence, the downside was way too much.  Maybe this is how it is in DV situations.  The good part is really good.  and then there's the other.  

I have no doubt in my mind that if i carry on with that man I am going to get physically hurt.  What i saw him do.....not out of controlling the dogs, but pure rage.......no i don't need to see more.

And the worst part is that the dogs don't have a choice.  He caters to them, special diets that require a lot of work on his part, they spend the day with him, are rarely home alone, but the flip side is what i saw.  I get that they need a firm hand because without it, they would be dangerous.

But i'm also not new to dogs, which is exactly why i have a 5lber. I grew up around German Shepherds and those dogs will fight to death for their owners.  Treat them wrong, and you have a dangerous dog.  Treat ANY dog with violence and you have the potential for a dangerous dog.  Training them does NOT involve slamming them  to the ground, or kicking, or HANGING them.  THAT is a loss of control, the exact opposite of control. 

Abel needed direction, and that is what i was asking Mr. Cigar for.  The previous day i had walked Abel down the road with a woman jogging and yes he was interested, but I was able to divert his attention with a quick pull on his leash. He was actually quite good with me.  But yesterday the vibe was different and i felt out of control - which you cannot be with a dog that size and breed.  Me asking for assistance should not have been a huge scene.  It's what a responsible person does.  Ask for assistance when needed.

I have gone over that scene in my mind 10,000 times trying to find my fault.  Where i caused it.  Because that would excuse him.  But there is no excuse.  I have also considered that the reason he didn't want to kiss me is that he had been drinking and i would smell it.  It would explain the complete personality change from earlier in the day.  

Is there a good man in there?  I no longer care to find out.  Maybe he'll dry out, go to therapy, get right in his head and be a wonderful partner for someone else.  

Or maybe i'll see him on the news.

Meanwhile- I will acknowledge that it's difficult to let the good part of him go.  The man who motivated me, walked with me, encouraged me, took me to nice places, talked to me about his life and business, the man who is driven and successful.  

Feeling safe with someone is more important than anything else.  

I don't think this will be like last time, where I felt depressed as if something huge had been missed and it was my fault.  I was given a second chance to prove i was correct.  And it didn't take long, did it.  

I didn't block him this time, on anything.  I can let it go.  What he posts or does or sees does not concern me.  I don't need to protect myself.  I won't be responding to messages that i know will come eventually.  No hate.  Just, a conscious decision to do better for myself. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...