Skip to main content

too short

 Yesterday i went to a wake for a close friends mother.  She was in her 90's and she wasn't always kind to my friend.  

During the last year of her life she required assistance from her children and my friend took on most of the care, due to being closest. They had time to bond, after all these years.  It was a beautiful thing, to have my friend shown love and appreciation after all the years of never being good enough.

Everything happens for a reason.  Life makes us stronger, or it gets the best of us.  Many times both depending on the day.

After the wake i went to my besties house because she was having some of her girlfriends over and was kind of mad i didn't plan on going.  So i went.  I've worked with all these ladies and i like all of them.  We all sat nibbling on charcuterie and snacks, catching up, laughing.  Women need to do this more often.  It's healing.

My bestie talked about a situation she is going through with one of her kids.  She said "fuck" a lot (totally out of character for her) and looked to me to support what she was saying because it sounds crazy.  But it really is happening.  She got the advice and support she needed, and more over, the room to vent and be understood.  All of us mothers.  We get it.  

I came home and as i was getting ready to wind down for the day, thinking about all the women in my life and how lucky i am to have such a strong network.......i rememberd my ring.  I had taken it off at Mr. Cigars house, and put it on top of this fancy cooler thing in his seasonal room because i didn't want it to pinch as i was walking the dog .....damn it all to hell.

I left it there.

Leave it.

I can't.

so i text him that i left my ring, that it is important to me and i'd like to get it back.  Short and sweet, he said he found it and no problem.

This reminds me of having to go to Mr. Tattoos and get my stuff.  How bad do i want this ring back?  It was a gift. I want it back.

I have to figure out how to get it without going to his house, and hopefully without having to see him at all.  The attraction is undeniable, but so is the dysfunction.  He makes sure i know he's in the world - why is my question.  Rather than feeling all emotional and reactionary- i feel pretty calm this time around.  It's not going to work.  

We can think of each other constantly, be attracted and want to be around each other - but his inability to take accountability for his actions, his anger.........his drinking.......is the reason it will never work.  I don't have to cut him out, hate him, or feel anything about it.  When he is sober he is what i want- but he isn't always sober.  And when he drinks he isn't just a jerk, he is dangerous.  And the things he does, wether he is drunk of not.........are bad.  Being drunk isn't an excuse.  

So the games of liking my posts or sending me "eyes" or "poking" me.........none of that matters.  Yes, he is in my mind, but not in the way he wants.  Yes, i'm sad it did't work out, but I feel relief not to have to wonder which Mr. Cigar i was seeing that day.  I like my peace.  I deserve safety at all times.

Life is too short.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...