Skip to main content

i know what is right

 The man showed up with flowers.

Purple roses, because when we dated  years ago he had taken a picture (he's a photographer) of a purple rose and named it after me.

For years, i kept that picture as my screensaver.  

He is demonstrative.  HOWEVER, my brain is suspicious of this type of attention.  Thats how fucked up I am.  I am not comfortable.  

I want to be the woman who EXPECTS this behavior.

We sat for a few minutes and talked, then it was time to go.  The restaurant was done over so it was brand new to me as well.  The food was good, and we both got Old Fashioned's  for a nice adult beverage.  Conversation was good, he is a talker. At the end of the meal an old co-worker sat down at the table immediately next to us and of course we did the screech and hug thing....I barely had time to sit down and he introduced himself to her, rather aggressively, like i had forgotten him.

I didn't care for it.

We came back to my place and i did invite him in because it was still pretty early.  I didn't offer him anything (i haven't gone shopping) and i almost felt like he was keeping tabs.  That could be my imagination.  We sat and talked, he asked to sit next to me.  

And that is when i reiterated that i was not dating, not looking to get intimately involved with anyone, that i was focusing on myself.  Mind you, i've said this at least 2 times before.  He said he would wait for me to make the first move.

Well..........he will be waiting a long time.  I don't know if this is my sickness, to not be able to appreciate a man who does all the things.......It just felt contrived.  Like an act.  He wouldn't let me tough the door on his car, opened it for me to get in, and to get out.  That felt ridiculous.  And contrived.

Or maybe he really is that guy.  I don't know.

I felt his want. and it felt like pressure.  Like stress.  And i told him, i don't want him waiting around for 12 weeks that he needed to live his life and do his thing.  I don't know how much clearer i can be.

I honestly believe that men bring me stress and upset.  It doesn't matter if they are perfect or jerks.  Because it's MY problem.  I was happy before Bill.  I was relaxed, had good times with my friends, and was living my life with no issues.  Yes, i wanted a man........but i was HAPPY. 

Then Bill enters and shakes my whole world with back and forth and drama and upset and of course .....I LOVE THAT, right?  I must.  And that is messed up.  I am messed up.  

I am not attracted to M.  When he left i gave him another big hug and i realized he is so tall......and he is attractive,  But i feel nothing.  I do not want to touch him.  While we were sitting on the couch he tried to hold my hand and i pulled away.  It's just not there.  

Can it grow there?  Can it develop?  I dont know.  What i feel is absolute panic and i don't want to do it.  

So i'm not going to.  I'm going to leave this be.  I will talk to my therapist about it today if there is time and i'm not wasting this mans time letting him think i'm ever going to want to be with him.

And i could kick myself as i look at the beautiful roses that he thoughtfully chose for me.

What the fuck is wrong with me.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I love ChatGPT

 I am extremely transparent with my emotions because i do not have the ability to NOT be.  My only option when i'm having any feelings is to talk in a very low, slow, monotone voice and keep my face as blank as i possibly can. Unless they mean something to me. Unless i care about them and how they treat me.  So while i'm perfectly okay with never seeing or hearing from Mr. Cigar again, in light of his true self unveiling, I am overthinking my expression of emotions to him.   I took this little conversation and put it into ChatGPT with no questions or directions and this is what i got back: This exchange captures a painful and emotionally charged moment. Your initial message was heartfelt, vulnerable, and expressed a genuine desire for connection and acknowledgment. His response, while polite on the surface, carried a sharp undercurrent of blame and finality—deflecting accountability and subtly rewriting the narrative as your fault. Ending it with “safe travels ...

Same stuff

 Nothing new to report.   I've been managing my anxiety, trying to, at least.  I know when it's kicking up and i know it's temporary.   Still doing physical therapy, walking, stretching, losing weight VERY slowly.  Not so easy to lose it at my age.  But i have an appointment in September to discuss hormone replacement and i think that may help me out with body aches and lethargy. Mr. Cigar is as busy as ever, yet always manages to make me feel important in his life.  It's been only 3 months and that shocks me a little bit.  Feels like it's been so much longer.  The pace is perfect, and it's nice to not have to make power moves with him.   I need to see my kids.  I think about them daily and know they have busy lives.  But i feel disconnected sometimes.  Same with some of my friends.  It's really hard for me to reach out.  To anyone. And i've also been enjoying my "do absolutely nothing" time. ...

Sunday funday

 I stayed in bed until 8am.  Yes, i was scrolling my phone, but still........i was in bed.  Also, i made coffee and brought it BACK to bed.....so yes, technically, i remained in bed until 8am. I have a hard time staying up past 9pm.  And then i can't sleep past 6:30 at the latest.  When did that happen? Yesterday, i was ready for bed by 7pm at the birthday party.   I got to hold, okay, i TOOK the 6 day old premie babie and cradled his little body for a longggg time.  I layed him in my lap so i could see him, and he could strettttttttch his tiny body.  This little boy, normally, would still be baking in the womb.......but here he is, tiny and mighty, in my lap.  His tiny hands, his tiny FEET.  OMG.  New mamma was happy to be with her family and socialize, but new daddy, stayed close.  He talked about all the things CJ does already.......sleep, eat, poop.   He is a very nice young man, very in tune with his sons wh...